The Delegation

The Nigerian Permanent Delegation to UNESCO is the embodiment of the country’s permanent presence at the seat of UNESCO in Paris. It was established in 1967, seven years after Nigeria became the 58th Member State of the Organization, soon after attaining independence in October, 1960. The Delegation was administered by the Nigerian Embassy in Paris until 1982 when it had an independent status with the appointment of H.E. Mrs Judith Attah as the first Ambassador, Permanent Delegate.

Ambassador Attah was succeeded by H.E. Alhaji Yahaya Aliyu, H.E. Dr. Emmanuel O. Akinluyi and H.E. Professor Michael Omolewa, OON.

The Delegation is currently headed by H.E. Mrs. Mariam Y. Katagum, Ambassador, Permanent Delegate.

Our Mission

The principal mission of the Permanent Delegation under the directives of the Honourable Minister of Education and President of the Nigerian National Commission for UNESCO (NATCOM) and in collaboration with the Commission are to serve the diplomatic interests of the Member State in UNESCO; and promote a thorough understanding of UNESCO and its programmes, projects in the Member State and all its institutions which are competent and active in the fields of mandate of UNESCO. The Delegation, therefore:

  • Act as the channel of communication between Nigeria and UNESCO on all matters.
  • Keeps the Nigerian government abreast of developments in UNESCO through regular reports on the programmes and activities of the organization.
  • Keeps all the collaborating Nigerian ministries/parastatals and other bodies, both governmental and non-governmental, especially the ministries of Science and Technology; Culture, Tourism and National Orientation; Communication; Information; Women/Youth; Sports; and Foreign Affairs, fully informed of programmes and activities in UNESCO for their participation.
  • Provides adequate support to Nigerian delegations to UNESCO conferences/meetings/seminars/workshops both at the Headquarters of UNESCO in Paris and away from the Headquarters as may be relevant and appropriate.
  • Participates in all inter-sessional meetings and conventional meetings to which delegates cannot come from home.
  • Participates in all briefing meetings of the Director-General of the Assistant Director-General (ADGs) of Programme Sectors etc, at the UNESCO headquarters
  • Participates in Regional Group Meetings at UNESCO Headquarters. Learn more

Delegation Staff

The Ambassador is supported by the Deputy Permanent Delegate, Mr. Imoh S. Egbo, the Delegation Counsellor, Mrs Edith Okoro, the Financial Officer Mr. Gambo Sebu and the Delegation Advisor Professor Folarin Osotimehin. The Delegation is comprised of 17 members of staff. Learn more